Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday *139*

Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which we spotlight an upcoming book release we're especially looking forward to!

Here's my pick this week: 

Timekeeper by Tara Sim
Timekeeper #1
Expected Publication: November 1st 2016 by Sky Pony Press

Two o’clock was missing. 

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.
Now I don't like comparisons to other authors and other works...and I'm not a fan of Cassandra Clare but I still think that Timekeeper sounds brilliant. I'm a sucker for anything related to time-travel or time itself and though the concept doesn't always deliver for me, I can't help but being drawn to it over and over again. Add that to an alternate Victorian London and there was simply no way to resist this one!  The way 'time' is handled here sounds really fresh, I love that it features a male narrator and a possible LGBT romance with a spirit?! Give us the precious now!

8 comments:

  1. Sounds like a good book and the cover definitely catches my eye. Hope you love it and I've actually never read a Cassandra Clare book so I have nothing to compare it to - and I hate comparisons as a marketing tool so that's a good thing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I read this one a while ago and truly enjoyed it! I hope you love it as well. Awesome pick! ^_^

    Brittany @ Brittany's Book Rambles

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ooh, this one sounds super interesting! I'm already a sucker for Victorian-esque novels, so this is definitely one I want to check out.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm a sucker for time travel, I may get burned but I'll still keep coming back lol. And the alt Victorian setting doesn't hurt either. Plus time actually stopping- that's different. I like it when there are new twists. Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Loving the sound of this one! I'm not a fan of comparisons either though, but I love me some Cassie Clare so I'm intrigued.

    ReplyDelete
  6. The blurb had me at "alternate Victorian world" lol! You know how much I love that setting! Time travel books haven't always worked for me, either, but same here- I keep going back for more! XD

    ReplyDelete
  7. This one caught my eye as well! I can't resist these steampunky type books :D

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm curious about this book! The cover is so cool, and it's definitely a genre I enjoy. I believe I saw it on Edelweiss. I hope you enjoy this book when you get a chance to read it!

    Have a wonderful week, Micheline. =)

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    ReplyDelete

I LOVE comments & do my best to return every one a.s.a.p. ♥
This blog is an award-free zone. I appreciate the thought but I can't invest the time needed.