Thursday, March 14, 2013

Daughter of Smoke & Bone getting scripted!!

In absolutely thrilling (and kind of scary) news for fans of Laini Taylor's Daughter of Smoke & Bone series: the book is now one step closer to making it's way to the big screen!!  This week I happened to be browsing Internet Movie Database (IMDb) and I came across a preliminary listing for the movie, categorized as 'in development' (see listing here)  Today comes an even more epic update:
The official announcement is out that Stuart Beattie, silver-screen scribe extraordinaire, will be responsible for adapting the hit YA novel for film.


The author herself Miss Laini Taylor had this to say about the news:
"I’m thrilled to have Stuart Beattie adapting ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’; it’s been fantastic to delve into the world of the book with a screenwriter of such insight and experience. Between Stuart, Joe Roth, and Universal Pictures, we’ve got a team with massive epic flair, and I can’t wait to see what unfolds as we move toward bringing Karou, Akiva, Brimstone and the world of ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ to the screen."
As much as I have mixed feelings about book-to-movie adaptations, I admit that I am very excited about this announcement!  I am already wondering who they could cast to bring Karou & Akiva to life.  And I think a lot of people might have avoided this book because it's not your stereotypical YA read, but making it into a movie will allow so many others to discover this magical world and it's captivating characters.  It will be hard to translate Laini's breathtaking prose but with an artsy gothic feel I bet they can make something really brilliant!

For the full news article & all the latest info, check out Hollywood Crush via MTV.com

What do you think about the news?
Are you excited? Annoyed?  Let me know in the comments below!

14 comments:

  1. I could not be happier about this book becoming a movie BUT not so sure about the pick for screenwriter...we'll see how that whole thing goes. It will be exciting to see how this gets cast.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah I know what you mean, on the one hand I really enjoyed all his 'Pirates' movies but G.I.Joe: Rise of the Cobra was absolutely horrible. *shudders* But like you said, it'll be exciting to see how it's cast & everything else1

      Delete
  2. Aiiieee!! I am SO excited for the possibility of this becoming a movie! I mean, I'm nervous, too, because part of me doesn't believe the book could translate to film well, but it would be so awesome if they did manage it! I have no idea who this Stuart Beattie person is though so I'll have to look him up.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A part of me agrees that all the beauty & feels won't translate into a film but SOMETIMES they do get it right so I guess that possibility excites me more right now!? LOL

      Delete
  3. I am both excited and nervous. This book is just so beautiful and vivid that I am worried they won't do it justice.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ditto. They probably won't (honestly) but some of the more vivid settings & intense scenes should be cool to see 'for realz'...and you never know, they may do as good of a job as they did with Hunger Games :D *crosses fingers & toes for good measure*

      Delete
  4. While I didn't enjoy this book much I DO think watching the movie would be a better experience for me than reading the book. I was very mesmerized by the whole plot but the whole pace of it killed the book for me. But a movie? I am on board for that!

    - Juhina @ Maji Bookshelf

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I'm thinking the visual aspect will be a BIG WIN for this one. The dreamy setting, the action scenes & the whole fantasy element of it all should translate well unto the big screen. I do worry that the best parts of the book (the lyrical style & emotional impact) won't come off, but I guess we'll have to wait and see :)

      Delete
  5. I got this book out from the library about six months ago and it didn't click for me, but I'm super interested in seeing how the film turns out, if it keeps going ahead. The different format might get the story across to me in a different and more effective way then the book did, for me, so I'm really keen to see how it goes along!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm sorry the book didn't quite do it for you Romi but you never know, sometimes a visual aid to help set the tone might be all you needed :D

      Delete
  6. I can't wait to see it. I thought straight away when i read it that it would make an awesome film. I hope they do it justice!

    ReplyDelete
  7. This book kept me guessing till the end and I can't wait to get my hands on the next book! This book sent me for a ride. It's DEFINITELY worth reading over and over again!

    ReplyDelete
  8. This is one of the best books I've read all year, with terrific and mind blowing world building and three dimensional, quirky characters, and I cannot wait for the next installment.

    ReplyDelete

I LOVE comments & do my best to return every one a.s.a.p. ♥
This blog is an award-free zone. I appreciate the thought but I can't invest the time needed.